2020–21 ASI Presidential and Board of Directors Winners Announced


San Luis Obispo, Calif. 4/23/2020 — The 2020–21 Associated Students, Inc. (ASI) presidential and Board of Directors winners were revealed today at asi.calpoly.edu. Shayna Lynch was announced as the 2020–21 ASI president with 1,798 total votes. From the College of Liberal Arts, Lynch is a third-year political science major, has served in ASI Student Government for three years, and is the current ASI chief of staff. Through her platform which focuses on diversity, equity, and inclusion, health and well-being, empowering the student voice, and sustainability, Lynch hopes to create a better Cal Poly by “charging forward together.”

3,547, or 17%, of students voted in this election through their Cal Poly Portal and the ASI website from Wednesday, April 22 at 9 a.m. through Thursday, April 23 at 9 a.m. 24 students won seats representing their college on the ASI Board of Directors. The board serves as the official voice of Cal Poly students regarding student advocacy efforts and ASI corporate activity. Winter quarter enrollment numbers determine the number of board seats for the following academic year. The 2020–21 board members and their colleges are as follows:

College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences

  • Hayley Fernandes, 333 votes
  • Armando Nevarez, 314 votes
  • Sujhey Rosas (She/Hers), 293 votes
  • Samantha Santos, 364 votes

College of Architecture and Environmental Design

  • Alexander Ameri, 180 votes
  • Diana Fierro Gonzalez, 165 votes
  • Mitchell Wexler, 102 votes

College of Engineering

  • Ricky Chavez, 370 votes
  • Alan Faz, 474 votes
  • Suha Hussain, 380 votes
  • Tess Loarie (she/her/hers), 471 votes
  • Jordan Perlas (she/her/hers), 382 votes

College of Liberal Arts

  • Neila Consuelo Patino (she/her/hers), 260 votes
  • Jordy Roth, 233 votes
  • Parker Swanson, 212 votes
  • Amanda Tejeda (she/her), 245 votes

College of Science and Mathematics

  • Michelle Deyski, 189 votes
  • Perla Estrada, 236 votes
  • McKenna Grant, 158 votes
  • Sam Park, 235 votes

Orfalea College of Business

  • Katia Espinoza (she/her/hers), 189 votes
  • Marissa Hiji, 181 votes
  • Melody Lee, 177 votes
  • Tom Lee, 213 votes

Winners will be ratified by the 2019–20 board at an upcoming virtual board meeting. For more information, visit asi.calpoly.edu or contact ASI Recruitment and Elections Committee Chair Conner O’Neil at asielectionschair@calpoly.edu.