2019–20 ASI Presidential and Board of Directors Winners Announced


San Luis Obispo, Calif. 4/25/2019 — The 2019–20 Associated Students, Inc. (ASI) presidential and Board of Directors winners were revealed today at 11 a.m. in the Julian A. McPhee University Union Plaza. Mark Borges was announced as the 2019–20 ASI president with 1,941 votes. From the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, Borges is a third-year environmental management and protection major and the current chair of the ASI Board of Directors. Borges promises to empower his cabinet to be easily accessible and build relationships with students to bring their ideas and concerns to the forefront of discussions.

3,055, or 14.7 percent, of students voted in the election through their My Cal Poly portal and the ASI website from Wednesday, April 24 at 9 a.m. through Thursday, April 25 at 9 a.m. 24 students won seats representing their college on the ASI Board of Directors. The board serves as the official voice of Cal Poly students regarding student advocacy efforts and ASI corporate activity. Winter quarter enrollment numbers determine the number of board seats for the following academic year. The 2019–20 board members and their colleges are as follows:

College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences
*A tie between Julia Hizami and Matthew Borda with 188 votes each will result in a special election. The chair of the board and board will determine the date of the special election.

  • Armando Nevarez, 240 votes
  • Chloé Fowler, 225 votes
  • Genevieve Regli, 212 votes

College of Architecture and Environmental Design

  • Chloe Wardrick, 101 votes
  • Zach Noyes, 50 votes
  • Jack Wanner, 37 votes

College of Engineering

  • Alan Faz, 391 votes
  • Paulina Nguyen, 331 votes
  • Julia Kelley, 288 votes
  • Joe Sandoval, 279 votes
  • Tess Loarie, 254 votes

College of Liberal Arts

  • Kylie Clark, 311 votes
  • Rob Moore, 289 votes
  • Shayna Lynch, 200 votes
  • Dominique Dolores Morales, 177 votes

College of Science and Mathematics

  • Conner O’Neil, 223 votes
  • Sam Park, 157 votes
  • Nicki Butler, 153 votes
  • Warner Thom, 139 votes

Orfalea College of Business

  • Mike Davis, 179 votes
  • Max Feinswog, 160 votes
  • Marissa Hiji, 130 votes
  • Harjot Sohal, 110 votes

Winners will be ratified by the 2018–19 board at the May 1, 2019 board meeting. For more information, visit asi.calpoly.edu/student_government/elections or contact ASI Recruitment & Elections Committee Chair Maggie Cheung at (805) 756-1291 or asielectionschair@calpoly.edu.